Committees of Rideau Park

///Committees of Rideau Park
Committees of Rideau Park2018-06-15T10:03:20+00:00

The ongoing work of the congregation is undertaken by a number of committees. (See the Terms of Reference for Committees.)

These committees are always in need of volunteer help. If you can offer some of your time, please contact the committee chairs, whose names are listed below:

CommitteeLead ContactEmail
CouncilMarcia Gosse, Chaircouncil@rideaupark.ca
Board of TrusteesSheila Faure, Chairtrustees@rideaupark.ca
United Church WomenNancy Begg-Durkee, Presidentucw@rideaupark.ca
SessionBob Nelson, Chair
Jeff Allo, Clerk
session@rideaupark.ca
StewardJohn Scollick, Chair
stewards@rideaupark.ca
StewardBob Roden, Treasurertreasurer@rideaupark.ca
Administrative & CommunicationsNancy McPhersonadmincomm@rideaupark.ca
Ministry & PersonnelCaroline Scollickmandp@rideaupark.ca
NominationsMarilyn Lawnominations@rideaupark.ca
PropertyRod Hagglundproperty@rideaupark.ca
StewardshipBrian Hamiltonstewardship@rideaupark.ca
Christian DevelopmentAndrea Laliberté, Co-chair
Tara Lynne Holton, Co-chair
christiandev@rideaupark.ca
Congregational DevelopmentGreig Scottcongregation_dev@rideaupark.ca
Pastoral CareBrian Nealpastoralcare@rideaupark.ca
Social Action & OutreachSandra Weedmark, Chairsocialaction@rideaupark.ca
Worship & MusicKate Whitridge, Co-chair
Karen Lamb, Co-chair
worshipmusic@rideaupark.ca

Description of Committee Purposes

The ongoing work of the congregation is undertaken by a number of volunteer committees and groups, each of which needs sitting members, as well as volunteers. Some committees comprise Council and are involved with secular business on behalf of Rideau Park. Other committees report to Session, the body that helps oversee the spiritual aspects of Rideau Park’s development.

  • Administrative-Communications Committee: work with the administrative staff to ensure effective operation of RP, in areas such as the website, internal and external communications, hardware and software. (Council)
  • Christian Development: provide childcare on Sunday mornings, teach Sunday School, be a youth leader. (Session)
  • Congregational Development Group: helps chart the direction the congregation takes as it grows. (Council)
  • Music and Worship: help shape the style of worship and the direction of our music during regular services and special events. (Session)
  • Nominations Sub-committee: recruit and support volunteers for key congregational positions. (Council)
  • Pastoral Care: visit the sick and shut-ins, be a mentor for newcomers. (Session)
  • Social Action & Outreach: coordinate Christmas Cheer, Harmony Club and Group for Friends; deliver donations to a Food Bank (Session)
  • Stewards: count offerings on Sunday, be a weekday evening duty officer, help with minor repairs and renovations or gardening tasks. (Council)
  • Stewardship Campaign: help raise monies for our yearly operating budget. (Council)